Richard Leonard has kindly tagged me in the Lucky Seven.  What that means is that I have to:

  • Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript (fiction or non-fiction)
  • Go to line 7
  • Post the next 7 lines or sentences on your blog as they are (no cheating, please!)
  • Tag 7 other authors to do the same

Now, the issue here is that my current manuscript doesn’t really have a page 7, since it’s mostly research with the occasional random scene thrown in.  So, I figure I’ll take the seventh paragraph that’s actually been written, and go with that.

In this scene, the protagonist has escaped from the factory where shi lived as slave labour all hir life, and is discovering the real world.

The apparent mistaken spelling of pronouns is intentional, for reasons which I’m not going into right now.

Zahra peeked out from behind the tree again.  The shouts of the other children drew hir slowly from hir hiding place.  In the factory, shouts had meant mistakes, punishment, but here the children seemed happy.  They ran in aparently random directions, and climbed on odd shaped objects.  Zahra didn’t really understand what the point was.

There were a number of adults standing to one side.  They seemed to be ignoring the children, but Zahra noticed that every so often they would glance over at them.

And now for the tagging.  I shall try to avoid anyone who has been tagged by Richard, or Goran, who tagged Richard, since that seems a little circular!

I’m looking forward to seeing what they come up with.

