I went to London at the weekend to see the Queen’s Diamonds.  She’s got them on exhibition at the palace, because it’s her Diamond Jubilee year.  They’re very pretty (but you’re not allowed to take photos, so I can’t share).  I was struck by two things:

Firstly, she actually wears them.  Many people would be too scared to wear them in case they lost them, were attacked, or they broke.  But I suppose she’s got enough security around her to not worry about loss or attack, and I imagine they are slightly better made than the majority of jewellery.

Secondly, things I discovered on the tour of the palace state rooms – Buckingham Palace has secret passages!  This appeals to my inner child.  I do have to wonder, though, whether I should be referring to them as “secret” passages, given that they are mentioned on the tour and thus pointed out to millions of people every year.

What do you think?  Am I allowed to call them secret, or should I use “hidden”?

