I came across this.  Go and read it.  I’ll wait.

The post is about whether quality trumps quantity in the blogging world, or the other way around.  If you post too often, you don’t have time to do anything else, and your post quality suffers.  If you post too infrequently, your posts go unnoticed in the plethora of other people’s words.

I fall into the posting too frequently camp, I think.

I got excited by my new toy and the idea of sharing all of the wonderful ideas I had, and got into the habit of posting every day.  The trouble is, now I feel like I have to post every day, and some days I don’t really have anything to say.  I don’t want to be held captive by my own blog.

The author suggests defining your goals a bit more clearly.  Think about why you’re blogging and decide what will help you with that.

So…

I started the blog to share ideas I’d had that I didn’t have time to do anything with, or didn’t feel strongly enough about to want to do anything with.  And to share fiction that I write.

Those are still good goals.  I just don’t have enough worthwhile ideas to post every day, and finding them is cutting into my writing time.  Which kind of defeats the point.

Here’s the new plan.

Friday Fiction will remain.  But I’m cutting back on the random-idea posts to twice a week.  I’m thinking Sunday and Wednesday.

What are your opinions on this?  Do you think I’m making the right decision?

