I have a problem.  I have this song stuck in my head.

When you get a song stuck in your head, what do you do?  I generally hum or sing it incessantly for a few days, annoying the people around me, until I eventually manage to get rid of it (usually by replacing it with something else, which doesn’t actually help).

But I digress.

The point of this post is to wonder whether there is a story idea in this.  An unscrupulous advertising agency comes up with a song which is guaranteed to stick in people’s heads.  Probably by using some scientific method of stimulating brain waves in specific ways.  They intend to sell the song and/or method to the highest bidder to use with their adverts, but the government hears about it and sends agents to capture the lead scientist and force him to work for them.  Much running, hiding, lying, and other such shenanigans* ensue.

 

* On a completely unrelated note, my spellchecker recognises “shenanigans”.  I didn’t know it was a real word (though I’ve been using it for years).  Apparently it means “secret or dishonest activity or maneuvering, or silly or high-spirited behaviour”.

