At work today, my colleague Lucy* turned to me and said,

“Which part of this spreadsheet am I supposed to be looking at?”

“Which spreadsheet?”  I asked, slightly puzzled.

“The one you sent me and John a link to just now.”

I paused for a moment.  I had sent a fair number of emails in the past few minutes, it being the time of the month for bullying other people into doing their jobs correctly, but I thought I knew the one she was referring to.

“You mean the one that begins with the sentence ‘Look at the sheet titled LookAtThisOne in this spreadsheet.’?”

“I didn’t read the email, I just clicked on the link.”

I rolled my eyes.  She didn’t even have the grace to look embarrassed by that confession.  The entire email was only three sentences long, and that was if you counted the link to the spreadsheet as its own sentence.  It was very hard not to say something particularly scathing, but I limited myself to a mild “You didn’t read the first sentence in the email?” and let it go.  After all, I can’t very well tell my boss she’s a fool, now can I?

 

Does this happen to you?  How often do people come asking you for information you have given them already?

 

* Names have been changed to protect the foolish.

